

Power That Works For You!®

ALABAMA MUNICIPAL ELECTRIC AUTHORITY

P.O. BOX 5220 • MONTGOMERY, ALABAMA 36103 804 SOUTH PERRY STREET TEL 334/262-1126 • FAX 334/262-2267 www.amea.com

March 30, 2015

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: Lisa Miller Manager, Communications and Marketing (334) 387-3501

AMEA and its Members announce 2015 scholarship winners

Thirty-two (32) high school seniors will enroll in a four-year university or two-year college this year with help from the Alabama Municipal Electric Authority (AMEA) and its 11 Members through the 2015 AMEA Scholarship Program. Each of the 32 scholarship recipients will receive a \$2,500 scholarship for a total of \$80,000 awarded in this year's program.

AMEA, which has provided scholarship assistance since 1992, received 148 scholarship applications in the 2015 program.

To be eligible for the AMEA scholarship or technical school scholarship, a student's family must receive electric service from a Member's electric utility and the student must attend an Alabama college or university.

"We are very pleased with the response to this year's program and we congratulate the winners," said Pamela Poole, AMEA Scholarship Program Coordinator. "Through such initiatives as the AMEA Scholarship Program, AMEA and its Members are helping enrich the lives of students throughout the state, and the benefits of this program will have a long, lasting effect."

Ms. Poole said AMEA will begin marketing the 2016 scholarship program to schools within its Member cities and also on the AMEA web site, www.amea.com, Scholarship Program, in August.

This year's scholarship recipients are:

Kaylee Clark, Benjamin Russell High School, Alexander City James Sturdivant, Benjamin Russell High School, Alexander City Michelle Tuggle, Benjamin Russell High School, Alexander City Nicholas Kellenberger, Dothan High School, Dothan Henry Morris, Providence Christian School, Dothan Katherine Brayer, Fairhope High School, Fairhope William Davis, Fairhope High School, Fairhope Cassidy West, Fairhope High School, Fairhope Alysa Gauci, Foley High School, Riviera Utilities Kyle Jones, Spanish Fort High School, Riviera Utilities Jewel Wallace, Foley High School, Riviera Utilities Al'Asia Walker, LaFayette High School, LaFayette Benjamin Wilkerson, Chambers Academy, LaFayette Laura Floyd, Lanett High School, Lanett Karlee Oliver, Valley High School, Lanett AnQuavis Simpson, Lanett High School, Lanett Lacey Folmar, Crenshaw Christian Academy, Luverne Michael Odom, Luverne High School, Luverne Abbi Sanders, Luverne High School, Luverne Adriane King, Opelika High School, Opelika Abbey Rowe, Opelika High School, Opelika Victoria Donaldson, Piedmont High School, Piedmont Skylar Fontaine, Piedmont High School, Piedmont Joyce Pleze, Piedmont High School, Piedmont Amy Dennis, Sylacauga High School, Sylacauga Utilities Board Philip Tice, Sylacauga High School, Sylacauga Utilities Board Monica James, Booker T. Washington High School, Utilities Board of Tuskegee Amber Smith, Booker T. Washington High School, Utilities Board of Tuskegee Candace Wilson, Lee-Scott Academy, Utilities Board of Tuskegee

2015 AMEA Technical Scholarship Winners

Dylan Langley, Emmanuel Christian School, Dothan Danielle Martin, Opelika High School, Opelika Bailey Frost, Sylacauga High School, Sylacauga Utilities Board

AMEA, a joint action agency formed in 1981, is the wholesale power provider for 11 public power utilities in Alabama, which serve approximately 350,000 customers in the cities of Alexander City, Dothan, Fairhope, Foley, LaFayette, Lanett, Luverne, Opelika, Piedmont, Sylacauga and Tuskegee.